Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

febottini

U2 playing in the Olympics?

Akshai Sarin to jam alongside U2 at the Olympics!

While Indian sportspersons are all set to make the country proud at the upcoming 2012 London Olympic Games starting on July 27, musician Akshai Sarin is gearing up to do the same.

The Mumbai lad has been specially invited to perform at the launch of the Walk A Mile campaign at the Hospital Club on July 24, an exclusive pre-Olympic event that will have luminaries such as Bill and Hillary Clinton, Michelle Obama, Richard Branson and Warren Buffett in attendance. International artistes such as U2, Alanis Morissette and Peter Gabriel are among the musicians who are also slated to perform at this star-studded evening.

Talking to TOI about how this invitation came about, an excited Akshai says, "I've been touring Europe for the past two months with my latest album, and I happened to meet the manager of a famous band in London last week (he refuses to tell us who, as he's bound by a non-disclosure agreement).

He heard the tracks, liked it and suggested that we collaborate on the band's upcoming album. A couple of days later, he emailed me saying there's an amazing event on July 24 in London and that the organisers would like to invite me to perform. When he told me exactly what it was, I was over the moon. This is totally beyond my wildest imagination, so I'm very proud to be representing India on such a huge platform!" says Akshai.

As for the material he'll be performing there, it will include original compositions from Connected — a set of upbeat house and dubstep tracks with an Indian twist. "I'll have a drummer, a percussionist and an amazing female vocalist called Taynah Reis from Brazil on stage with me. Bill Clinton is bringing his saxophone, and I've heard Bono from U2 and the other performers may join us on stage for a jam at the end. So it really doesn't get any bigger than this!"