Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

claire17

"U2 : I will follow project" - call for testimonies

Hi everybody! My name is Claire from France. I'm a print journalist and I've been following U2 carreer since I was 12 (and let me tell you it is almost 25 years i'm not that age anymore;)! ). Here is a post about my project around U2 fans. At the moment, it is named "U2 : I will follow project" and intends to gather testimonies from U2 fans all other the world and publish a book. Sorry if this post is a bit long (that's an understatement;)!) but i wanted to explain everything. Here we go!

"While tickets for the next U2 tour 2015 were again snatched after a few hours, why is the Irish band still so popular around the world 35 years after its debut in Dublin? Why do people love U2 in Paris, Vancouver, Sydney or Buenos Aires? What kind of relationship do admirers have with the band? What do they feel when they listen to its music?

The "U2: I will follow project" is to collect testimonies from fans around the globe to answer all these questions and edit the output through a book (financed by a call for donations on a participatory platform).

In order not to go in all directions, a list of dozens of questions was established (see below). Then you are free to share other impressions of the group, telling stories, asking more questions ...

Who I am?

Claire Talgorn 37, print journalist for 15 years in a daily regional press in France. Passionate about music, of course!

Why am I interested in U2 fans?

Probably because I am one of them!

I entered the world of the four Irishmen one afternoon in 1989. I was 12 years old. I heard "Pride" on the radio and the world stopped. Their music never left me. When I listen to it is a mixture of revolt, rage, and tenderness, sweetness I feel every time.