Sign in to follow this  
Ms Innes

GA Line at the Phoenix Shows

I'm flying to Phoenix in May and 'doing' GA for the first time ever.  I'm nearly as old as the boys in the band, but I'm psyched to get up close and personal for the first time in 30 years!

Since I'm a newbie at this, I need GA line-sitting tips...  I have a disposable air pillow to rest my old bones on, and will bring munchies and water.  What else do I need to bring, and need to know, to be well-prepared?  Any and all advice is greatly welcomed!

GA is great fun!  Being in line all day with like minded U2 fans makes the whole day better.  Definitely bring munchies and water.  Wear comfy shoes/clothes/sunscreen, etc.  Bring something to do and interact with those around you....card game, sidewalk chalk, etc.  My friends and I buy cheap camping chairs and just leave them by the stadium when the line starts to move to go in.  We're travelling to Phoenix for this - so, we're hoping to find some at a store down there (they don't make for great carry-on items) :).  

Above all - just have fun and enjoy the experience.  The energy buildup once the line starts to move and you get into the stadium is unlike anything else.  And when the boys come onstage...scream like crazy!  :)  

The Major League Baseball team here, the Arizona Diamondbacks, play next door to the arena where U2 is going to play. Arizona has home games each night. The May 22 game is at 640pm local and the May 23rd game starts at 710pm local.  If people are spending the day in the GA line, it won't be a problem for them, but plan ahead otherwise.  Traffic will be very busy. Use the light rail if possible as there are stops near the arena.

I can't think of a place nearby that sells cheap camping chairs.  There is a CVS Pharmacy about 2 blocks west of the arena.

Hopefully the weather cooperates and it won't be super hot, but it could be up to 110 degrees.