Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

promans

Photos on U2.com

I see the new functions and fun of U2.com have been expanded to include photos.

As a fan photographer, I am extremely worried about the details of copywrite upon uploading:

Your Content. By uploading or posting content, you automatically grant us a perpetual, worldwide, royalty-free, irrevocable, nonexclusive right andlicense to use, reproduce, display, modify, adapt, publish, transmit and distribute such content in any form, medium or technology now known or laterdeveloped.

So any image you upload to U2.com, becomes their's to use forever. They can add it to books, websites, etc, and never give a dime nor give credit to whocaptured the image.

That is only one part of my concern. Another is that there is no real moderation from what I can tell. You can tag a photo "Flag as Inappropriate"but as far as I can tell, that doesn't do much. I am guessing if a photo gets a couple of them someone might take a look at it.

The last problem I find is there is no easy method to check for the re-use of others images. I know several other fan photographers who are extremely worriedabout other people uploading their work and granting U2.com license to use it because it was incorrectly uploaded. Or for that matter, other people layingclaim to the image- knowingly or un-knowingly.

If these points can be clarified, I am sure some great images can be shared on this site for all to enjoy.

Phil Romans

ps I don't know why U2.com just didn't enlist something like an official Flickr group to support their cause. Much easier to control content there thanthis proprietary system on u2.com.

Just upload them in low resolution or put a watermark on it with Photoshop or related programs.

My question still is-

Who is watching those images, and what is being done about people who upload images who they do not own the rights to- either knowingly or unknowningly.